Established in 1996 by the Women's Council, the Founders Award annually recognizes individuals whose dedication and volunteer contributions have made a monumental impact on the growth and prominence of the Dallas Arboretum and Botanical Garden.

Founders Award Honorees
1995-1996     Mrs. Nell Denman* and Mr. Jim Coker*
1996-1998     None due to Garden Gala
1998-1999     Mrs. Mary Nell Rogers* and Mr. Ralph Pinkus*
1999-2000     Mrs. Mary Silverthorne* and Mr. Robert K. Hoffman*
2000-2001     Mr.* and Mrs. Jim Lake ( Barbara) and
                      Mrs. Amelia ((Mimi) Lay Hodges*
2001-2002     Mr.* and Mrs. Trammell Crow (Margaret) and
                      Mr. Pat Spillman                      
2002-2003     Mr. Naud Burnett II
2003-2004     Mr. John Watson*
2004-2005     Mr. Robert L. Thornton III
2005-2006     Mrs. Orien L. Woolf*
2006-2007     Mrs. Willis R. Cowlishaw (Patricia)
2007-2008     Mr. and Mrs. Claude R. Wilson, Jr. (Emilynn)
2008-2009     Mrs. Richard Cree (Mary Ann)
2009-2010     Mrs. Howard M. Meyers (Rory)*
2010-2011     Mr.* and Mrs. Willard Baker  (Martha)
2011-2012     Mr. Stephen A. Coke
2012-2013     Mrs. Lawrence Marcus (Shelby)
2013-2014     Mr. and Mrs. Tom McCasland (Phyllis)
2014-2015     Ms. Caroline Rose Hunt
2015-2016     Ms. Kathleen Cunningham
2016-2017     Mrs. Richard L. Brown (Carole Ann) and
                      Mrs. Dale Cunningham (Claire) 
2017-2018     Mr. Dave Forehand
2018-2019     Mrs. Michael L. McCullough (Jo Anne)
2019-2020     Mrs. Robert J. Bigham, Jr. (Barbara)
2020-2021     Ms. Mary Brinegar